Review – Isle of Blood and Stone by Makiia Lucier

IMG_8771

Title Isle of Blood and Stone

Author Makiia Lucier

Description from Amazon

Eighteen years ago, two princes vanished. Now a riddle hidden on a mysterious map could chart a course towards the truth and the missing royals in this historical fantasy that’s perfect for fans of Rachel Hartman and Tamora Pierce.

Eighteen years ago two princes of the island kingdom of St. John del Mar were kidnapped and murdered, a deadly plot by the rival kingdom of Mondrago. Everyone knows the story, but for Elias, Mercedes, and Ulises, the aftermath of that tragic day is deeply personal. Elias grew up without his father, who was killed trying to protect the princes. Mercedes is half-Mondragan, leaving her to grow up in the shadow of del Mar’s hate. And Ulises, as the youngest and only remaining prince, inherited the throne meant for his older brothers. Now, the three friends just want to move on with their lives. But when two maps surface—each with the same hidden riddle—troubling questions arise. What really happened to the young princes? And why do the maps look like they were drawn by Elias’s father, whose body was never found? To discover what really happened that fateful day, Elias, Mercedes, and Ulises must follow the clues hidden in the maps, uncovering long-held secrets and unimaginable betrayals along the way. But the truth is dangerous, and not everyone wants it to come out. Isle of Blood and Stone is a sweeping fantasy full of intrigue and schemes, romance and friendship, and fearless explorers searching for the truth.

Initial Thoughts

As I said in my hype post, I didn’t realize that the book I was approved for on NetGalley, Song of the Abyss, was a sequel.  So, naturally, I had to read the first book before I tackled my latest NetGalley assignment.

Favorite Character

Mercedes – I want so much more about Mercedes.  Spin-off books, short stories, anything and everything.  She was mysterious and strong and I thought she deserved a bigger role in the whole story (but, I understand why she didn’t have it).

Something I Wasn’t Crazy About

The romance element — it was understated (but present).  I wanted it to be more prominent. However, that being said, I was totally ok with romance being on the back-burner in favor of a mystery being solved.

Series Value

Makiia Lucier has created a vast world with tons of rich settings and characters that I would definitely revisit in future books.  I can easily see many sequels, spin-offs, and short stories stemming from this world.

I would like to point out, I probably didn’t need to read this one first in order to understand the plot of Song of the Abyss, but I’m glad I read it anyway.

Final Thoughts

This was a total stumble-upon read for me.  It wasn’t something that sat on my TBR for a while or something that was a highly anticipated release.  It fell in my lap and I was very pleasantly surprised by how much I liked it.

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Recommendations for Further Reading

  • Descendant of the Crane by Joan He – I really loved this story and Isle of Blood and Stone gave me similar feelings.  Both are stories about royals, mysteries, a little bit of magic, and a dash of romance.
  • The Queen’s Rising by Rebecca Ross – this is another story of tragedy and a mystery that takes years to fully solve.  Missing royals, political intrigue, revenge, and romance, need I say more?
  • Furyborn by Claire Legrand – the settings of both of these books are very similar.  They are both fictionalized versions of France (or at least what I imagine France to be like).

Links

Isle of Blood and Stone on Goodreads

Buy Isle of Blood and Stone on Amazon

5 thoughts on “Review – Isle of Blood and Stone by Makiia Lucier

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s