Review – Mr. Malcolm’s List by Suzanne Allain

**Disclaimer: I was given a free e-ARC in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley.**

Title Mr. Malcolm’s List

Author Suzanne Allain

Description from Amazon

It is a truth universally acknowledged that an arrogant bachelor insistent on a wife who meets the strictest of requirements–deserves his comeuppance.

The Honourable Mr. Jeremy Malcolm is searching for a wife, but not just any wife. As the target of matchmaking mothers and desperate debutantes, he’s determined to avoid the fortune hunters and find a near-perfect woman, one who will meet the qualifications on his well-crafted list. But after years of searching, he’s beginning to despair of ever finding this paragon. Until Selina Dalton arrives in town.

Selina, a vicar’s daughter of limited means and a stranger to high society, is thrilled when her friend Julia Thistlewaite invites her to London, until she learns it’s all part of a plot to exact revenge on Mr. Malcolm. Selina is reluctant to participate in Julia’s scheme, especially after meeting the irresistible Mr. Malcolm, who appears to be very different from the arrogant scoundrel of Julia’s description.

But when Mr. Malcolm begins judging Selina against his unattainable standards, Selina decides that she has some qualifications of her own. And if he is to meet them he must reveal the real man behind…Mr. Malcolm’s List.

Release Date July 28, 2020

Initial Thoughts

Once again, this was a classic case of getting a new book on NetGalley and ignoring the older books so I could read the new one right away. I downloaded this book 3 days ago and started it immediately because it sounded really good.

Some Things I Liked

  • Witty banter. As expected with any good recency story, the dialogue in this story was fantastic. Everyone was quick-witted and I loved that.
  • Cassie. Easily my favorite character. I’d love to see a sequel / spin-off story about him finding love. Honorable mention to Gertie. She was perfect too. I’d like to see her in future stories.
  • Pride and Prejudice vibes. I loved that the entire story was based on assumptions and misunderstandings. The characters and story felt so much like the beloved classic and I really enjoyed that aspect.

Series Value

I would really enjoy reading more about these characters. They were a lot of fun and a few of the side characters have unfinished stories that I’d enjoy reading.

Final Thoughts

This book was perfect. It was exactly what I was expecting from the description and I really enjoyed it. The writing and dialogue were perfect and I’m really glad I read this one. This book is perfect for fans of Pride and Prejudice.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Recommendations for Further Reading

  • Bringing Down the Duke by Evie Dunmore – if you like the time period and the witty banter, try this series by Evie Dunmore.
  • A Brazen Curiosity by Lynn Messina – again, if you liked the time period, try this series. It’s a cozy mystery series.
  • A Duke, the Baby, and a Lady by Vanessa Riley – if you liked the dialogue and the idea of a higher ranking gentleman with high standards, try this series by Vanessa Riley.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s